Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography

VIMMA - Antrasiitille (Official Music Video)



Prog Folk

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Submitted by tupan | 3/29/2023

Last spring our vocalist Eeva Rajakangas blocked a Russian coal train together with other Elokapina (XR Finland) activists in Hanko, Finland. The coal train was carrying anthracite (the oldest type of coal), mined in Siberia and sold for fuel in Europe.

Like other fossil fuels imported from Russia, anthracite not only accelerates the climate crisis but also funds Putin?s attack on Ukraine. In this song, anthracite symbolises all the damage and suffering caused by fossil fuels on our planet.


The lyrics of the song originated as a powerful speech by Elsi Sloan, which Eeva Rajakangas later transformed into a haiku-like poem.

The first version with Elsi''s speech was performed during some of our gigs over the summer 2022, when Elsi was substituting for Eeva. During one of the gigs, we performed a ritualistic burial of a lump of anthracite. (Maasta oot sä tullut, ja maahan myöskin jäät / ) The lump was taken from the Russian coal train Elokapina (XR Finland) had blocked.

One of the anthacite lumps can also be seen in the video.


The song''s opening line is a phrase often associated with activist/musician Utah Phillips, and it has become popularised among climate activists.

One of the intentions behind the song is to point a finger at those most responsible for the climate crises: decision-makers, CEO?s of fossil fuel industries, leaders of authoritarian petro-states and the 1% of the world?s population causing 15% of global emissions. At the same time, we want to empower those that are constantly working towards a livable future.


Music Video:
Veeti Hautanen
Eeva Rajakangas
Pessi Jouste

Composed by Pessi Jouste
Lyrics by Eeva Rajakangas
Arranged by Pessi Jouste, Janne Oinas, Eeva Rajakangas, Roope Jokinen, Kalle Outila, Aino Kallio, Santeri Kettu, Aapo Lankinen

Production and mixing: Janne Oinas
Recording: Matias Koskimies
Mastering: Pauli Saastamoinen (Finnvox)

Special thanks to Elokapina (XR Finland)

Eeva Rajakangas - spoken word
Pessi Jouste - violin
Roope Jokinen - violin
Kalle Outila - plucked strings
Aino Kallio - piano, synths, Hammond organ
Santeri Kettu - bass
Aapo Lankinen - drums
Janne Oinas - synths

Record label: Eclipse Music
Distribution: The Orchard

Johanna Sauramäki / Saura Booking Agency
[email protected]
+358 50 5481793


Related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.